Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Orange Bicycle - Let's Take A Trip On An Orange Bicycle (1967-68)

Για μερικούς η υποτιθέμενη απάντηση των Βρετανών στους Beach Boys λόγω του κομματιού L.A. Ουσιαστικά κατά την άποψή μου δεν μπορούν να ξεφύγουν από το Βρετανικό στυλ όσο και αν προσπάθησαν αν «Αμερικανήσουν» στα φωνητικά σε μερικά κομμάτια. Ευχάριστη psych – pop.

WILSON MALONE keyb'ds, vcls A
R.J. SCALES vcls A

1(A) THE ORANGE BICYCLE (Parlophone PCS 7108) 1970 R2
NB: There's also a compilation, Let's Take A Trip On... (Morgan Bluetown MBT 5003) 1988.

1 Hyacinth Threads/Amy Peate (Columbia DB 8259) 1967
2 Laura's Garden/Lavender Girl (Columbia DB 8311) 1967
3 Early Pearly Morning/Go With Goldie (Columbia DB 8352) 1968
4 Jenskadajka/Nicely (Columbia DB 8413) 1968
5 Sing This All Together/Trip On An Orange Bicycle (Columbia DB 8483) 1968
6 Last Cloud Home/Tonight I'll Be Staying Here (Parlophone R 5789) 1969
7 Carry That Weight/You Never Give Me Your Money (Parlophone R 5811) 1970
8 Take Me To The Pilot/It's Not My World (Parlophone R 5829) 1970
9 Jelly On The Bread/Make It Rain (Parlophone R 5854) 1970
10 Goodbye Stranger/Country Comforts (Regal Zonophone RZ 3029) 1971

This rather lightweight vocal harmony outfit, evolved out of Robb Storme and The . Whispers. They started playing quasi-psychedelic pop music in 1967. They had a No 1 in France with their debut single Hyacinth Threads although their future singles including a cover of The Rolling Stones' Sing This All Together did not happen at home.
Their album was produced by John Peel and was largely comprised of cover versions of Elton John/Bernie Taupin material such as Take Me To The Pilot, which was also released as a single. It also included Dylan's Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You and Denny Laine's Say You Don't Mind.
Laura's Garden can also be heard on Morgan Blue Town (LP) and Best And The Rest Of British Psychedelia (CD) compilations and it's typical of their harmony pop style.
A revitalised Morgan Bluetown label produced an album, Let's Take A Trip On... in 1988. Containing 16 tracks in all, it includes all the Columbia 'A' and 'B' sides (except the third), but none of the later Parlophone ones. Sadly there are no sleevenotes at all to suggest where the other tracks originate from.
Wilson Malone recorded a self-titled solo album as Wil Malone in 1970 for Fontana and was also in Motherlight.

1. Hyacinth Threads
2. Dropping Out
3. Renaissance Fair
4. Sing This All Together
5. Amy Peate
6. So Long Marrianne
7. Jenskadajka
8. Soft Winds
9. Laura's Garden
10. Trip On An Orange Bicycle
11. Competition
12. L. A.
13. Nicely
14. Sister Sharon
15. Box 49
16. Lavender Girl

1 comment:

muffy said...

great, fun album. thanks for sharing!