Sunday, December 27, 2009

Serenity - Piece Of Mind (1972)

Χρόνια πολλά σε όλους μας. Να είμαστε καλά για να αντέξουμε αυτά που μας προετοιμάζουν να έρθουν και ο Θεός να βάλει το χέρι του.
Συγνώμη που χάθηκα τόσο καιρό αλλά έπεσε γκάζι επιτέλους να μετακομίσω. Βέβαια είχαμε και τις ζημιές, όπως το πλατό από το πικ ακ.
Δεν πολύ κυκλοφορεί αυτό το γκρου στο νετ οπότε είπα να το ανεβάσω. Ευχάριστα και απαλά ακούσματα στο πνεύμα της ηρεμίας που πρέπει να έχουμε. Καλή σας ακρόαση.

PHIL BRIGGS gtr, vcls A
MALCOLM LANE hrmnca, vcls A

1(A) PIECE OF MIND (Down Under DL 1501) 1972

1 Where Is The Lord?/Millions (Down Under DS 1001) 1972
2 Pig/Sandelmaker (Down Under DS 1004) 1972

The sole album by this obscure New Zealand trio is decent early-'70s folk-rock with some occasional pop, psychedelic, and blues traces, though it's not notable enough to be of interest beyond the specialized collecting circuit. The trio do manage a pleasant low-key sound that has a slightly unusual, diffident, laconically hip quality, especially in the vocals. That makes for a nice change from the leagues of early-'70s albums colored by earnest blandness to the singing and songwriting. Also, like many rock records from the era made away from the main recording centers of the United States and United Kingdom, it has a slightly-behind-the-times feel, sounding more like a 1970 record than a 1972 one -- not a huge difference, but a notable one at a time when trends in pop music changed so rapidly. None of the songs are outstanding, but none are turkeys either; several of the tracks sound a little like engaging minor league cousins to Country Joe & the Fish's better reflective psychedelic tunes, and a California psychedelic influence is audible in the harmonies and wafting organ of "Away from Here." Much of the material has a breezy feel that doesn't try too hard, nearing an almost jazzy sense of hippie cool on "Millions." ~ Richie Unterberger, All Music Guide

01 Green And Sunny Weather
02 Devil Man
03 Millions
04 Away From Here
05 Seatime Rain
06 Chance With Freedom
07 Where Is The Lord
08 Sandelmaker
09 Pig
10 The Golden Legend
11 Shell
12 Her Mind Holds You


chinapig55 said...

This is still available from the UK Kissing Spell label on CD.
Also available on limited (500 copies) vinyl record including the gimmix cover and band biography from

Gilbert Necessary said...

Thanks so much for this -- was just looking for this yesterday, and here it is today!

I've posted more NZ psych over on my blog for those who are interested: Space Farm Live, No. 8 Wire (psych garage comp) -


psych-Spaniolos said...

Happy New Year and thanks a lot for your comments.