Friday, June 06, 2008

Magic Carpet - Magic Carpet (1972)

Η περιορισμένης ανατύπωσης επανέκδοση (είναι το 2ο νούμερο της εταιρείας) της Magic Carpet Records που έγινε το 1995, μας απασχολεί σήμερα σε μία βροχερή τουλάχιστον εδώ, μέρα από το folk γκρουπ των Magic Carpet. Σύμφωνα με τις πληροφορίες που βρήκα βγήκαν συνολικά 1000 κόπιες ενώ μόνο οι 500 έχουν τις υπογραφές του γκρουπ. Έχω την «τιμή» να κρατώ την κόπια Νο 362 σε mint κατάσταση.

Ανατολίτικοι ήχοι, Ινδικοί ουσιαστικά, διανθισμένοι από σιτάρ που παίζει ο Clem Alford, με ποιητικούς στίχους οι οποίοι περιέχονται στη έκδοση του Lp αλλά και πανέμορφα φωνητικά. Περισσότερες πληροφορίες πέραν του Αγγλικού κειμένου θα βρείτε εδώ αλλά και εδώ

CLEM ALFORD sitar, esraj, tamboura A B
KESHAV SATHE tabla, perc A
ALISHA SUFIT vcls, gtr A B

1(A) MAGIC CARPET (Mushroom 200 MR 20) 1972 R2
2(B) ONCE MOOR - MAGIC CARPET II (Magic Carpet Records MC 1004) 1996
NB: (2) as Magic Carpet II. (1) has been counterfeited and also reissued on CD (Essex 1005 CD) 1993, and on LP and CD (Magic Carpet MC 1001) 1995.

A mystical Eastern-sounding psychedelic folk album which was produced and engineered by Vic Keary at Chalk Farm Studios in the Winter of 1971/2. All the tracks are self-penned, half of them by the vocalist Alisha alone.
The band had formed at the beginning of the seventies. Alisha Sufit had a haunting voice ideally suited to the blend of Indian and Western music available on this album. Clem Alford was a classically-trained sitar player who'd travelled to India to learn more about Indian classical music. In 1971 they discovered Mushroom Records, which specialised in Indian-related recordings and has gone on to become a very collectable label. Sadly the band split up before the resulting album was released so it was never properly promoted. Mushroom were getting into financial difficulties in any case and could only afford to finance a limited pressing of 1,000 copies, which sold slowly over the next half dozen years.
What of the album? Well, the tracks are basically of two types. There are the pleasant, Eastern-sounding instrumentals typified by the title track, Alan's Christmas Card and Take Away Kesh and the tracks that showcase Alisha Sufit's delicate vocals like The Phoenix, Black Cat, Peace Song and High Street.
After the band's demise, Clem Alford went on to record a couple of solo albums and also issued an album as Sargam (misspelt as Sagram on the record). Alisha Sufit developed her interest in art but did eventually return to the recording studio in 1992 with some respected backing musicians to record Alisha Through The Looking Glass (Sufit 010 CD/MC), which was issued on CD and cassette.
Alisha Sufit and Clem Alford recorded a stylistically similar second album Once Moor as by Magic Carpet II in 1996.
Compilation appearances include: Father Time on Electric Psychedelic Sitar Headswirlers Vol. 5 (CD).
1. The magic carpet
2. The phoenix
3. Black cat
4. Alans Christmas Card
5. Harvest Song
6. Do you hear the words
7. Father Time
8. La La
9. Peace Song
10. Take Away kesh
11. High Street
12. The Dream

No comments: