Friday, April 04, 2008

Velvett Fogg - Velvett Fogg (1969)

Από την SEE FOR MILES RECORDS κυκλοφόρησε πριν χρόνια το cd από την μοναδική δουλειά των Βρετανών. Οι Velvett Fogg σχηματίστηκαν στο Μπέρμινχαμ το 1968 από τα μέλη μίας άλλης μπάντας (Gravy Train) με άλλη σύνθεση. Ξεκίνησαν την μουσική τους διαδρομή μάλλον ασυνήθιστα αφού μετακόμισαν στην Γερμανία για να παίζουν σε στρατιωτικές βάσεις και clubs.

Η επιστροφή τους όμως στο νησί έφερε καθοριστικές αλλαγές σε όλα τα επίπεδα. Για παράδειγμα την θέση του κιθαρίστα όπου για ένα φεγγάρι πήρε ο Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath) πήρε μετά ο Ian Leighton, ο οποίος αργότερα έδωσε την θέση του στον Paul Eastment (ξάδερφο του Tony Iommi).

Για το ενδιαφέρον που υπάρχει όσον αφορά το εξώφυλλο αφού στην μπάντα δεν συμμετείχαν γυναίκες. Βρήκα το παρακάτω σχόλιο… displayed the pre-Paul Eastment line-up of the band wearing garish make-up/body-paint and costume but also included two well-endowed young women wearing nothing but strategically applied body paint! This politically-incorrect package was accompanied by a typically obscure sleevenote by the influential U.K. disc jockey John Peel who commented "There is a lot of good music on this record. Remember Velvett Fogg - you will hear the name again."

Οι απογοητευτικές πωλήσεις του Lp έπαψαν το ενδιαφέρον της εταιρείας Pye με συνέπεια την διάλυση του γκρουπ το 1969. Τα μέλη του οποίου τράβηξαν διαφορετικούς δρόμους όπως για παράδειγμα ο Paul Eastment που έφτιαξε μία μπάντα με το όνομα Holy Ghost (αργότερα σκέτο Ghost) που έβγαλαν ένα δίσκο στη Gemini (When You're Dead).

Frank Wilson Hammond organ, vocal
Keith Law (songwriter)
Paul Eastment guitar, vocal
Graham Mullett drums
Mick Pollard bass guitar

1(A) VELVETT FOGG (Pye NSPL 18272) 1969 R2
NB: (1) has been counterfeited and was also reissued as Velvett Fogg Plus (See For Miles SEE 259) in 1989 with the 45 added, also available on CD (SEE CD 259) 1989.
1 Telstar '69/Owed To The Dip (Pye 7N 17673) 1969

Complete with sleeve notes from John Peel came Velvett Fogg with a blend of their own compositions, like Yellow Cave Woman, The Delicate Wizard Of Gobsolob and Once Among The Trees, the story of a chase with strong sexual overtones. Plastic Man, a comment on politicians, and Owed To The Dip, an organ-dominated instrumental; and their own interpretative cover versions of The Bee Gee's New York Mining Disaster 1941 and Tim Rose's Come Away Melinda. Worth a listen, but don't pay a lot for it.
Paul Eastment was later in Ghost. Organist Frank Wilson was a founding member of Warhorse.
The See For Miles reissue includes the band's interesting version of Telstar. Two cuts from their album have also been compiled. The mildly psychedelic Within The Night can also be found on Rubble, Vol. 7 - Pictures In The Sky (LP) and Lady Caroline, an anguished story-song, got further exposure on Rubble, Vol. 10 - Professor Jordan's Magic Sound Show (LP). Come Away Melinda also appeared on Progressive Music (LP).


1. Yellow Cave Woman
2. New York Mining Disaster 1941
3. Wizard Of Gobsolod
4. Once Among The Trees
5. Lady Caroline
6. Come Away Melinda
7. Owded To The Dip
8. Within The Night
9. Plastic Man
10. Telstar '69

No comments: