Tuesday, March 18, 2008

Pisces - Pisces (1971)

Ένα κλασικό folk Βρετανικό γκρουπ που έβγαλε ένα και μοναδικό άλμπουμ (πολύ καλό) έχουμε σήμερα, όπου σύμφωνα με τα αναγραφόμενα στο net το Lp τους είναι σπάνιο. Ξεκίνημα σε αυτό το γκρουπ έκανε ο μετέπειτα γνωστός στο Αγγλικό κοινό Richard Digance, ο οποίος έκανε την πρώτη του δισκογραφική επιτυχία το 1975. Γεγονός που σημαίνει ότι με τους Pisces απέτυχε. Ούτως ή άλλως οι Pisces είχαν ελάχιστο χρόνο ζωής ως συγκρότημα. Σε ένα καθ’όλα μελωδικό άλμπουμ ξεχωρίζω τα Poker Joe, Jack O Legs, Bright New Morning και After The Night.

This album is now a minor collectable. It consists of self-penned soft folk-rock songs. Some, like "Jack O'Legs", are story songs. Others, like "The Ballad Of Benjamin Bratt", are very light-hearted. There are some nice melodies on this album, which is worth investigating for fans of this genre. Richard Digance went on to become a well-known humorous folk artist and TV personality.

Richard Digance – 6 and 12 String Guitars, Keyboads, Vocals
Tim Greenwood - Bass, 6 and 12 String Guitars, Vocals
John O'Connor - 6 String Guitar, Bass, Vocals

1. Bright New Morning (4:41)
2. The Ballad Of Benjamin Bratt (3:03)
3. After The Night (3:54)
4. Jack O Legs (7:18)
5. If I Sing You A Song (3:32)
6. Midsummer Symphony (4:45)
7. Sam The One-Eyed Snail (3:02)
8. If The Truth Be Known (6:14)
9. Poker Joe (4:43)


Levent Varlik said...

Pisces are one of the "lostreasures" of folk-rock era of early seventies... I love their sound and playinn that sound-a-like Magna Carta...

Anonymous said...

Link is not working. Can you upload it again, please? I can't find it anywhere.... :-(

I would be very grateful... Thanx!!!

Anonymous said...

Link is broken... can you upload it again please? It is impossible to find it anywhere...