Monday, March 03, 2008

Yesterday's Children - Yesterday's Children (1969)

Η σημερινή μέρα ξεκινά με μία «φασαριόζικη επιλογή. Οι Yesterday's Children με καταγωγή από το Connecticut στο μοναδικό ομώνυμο Lp τους, είναι περισσότερο hard rock παρά garage ή ψυχεδελικό συγκρότημα. Ωστόσο μάλλον λόγω ενός single που έβγαλαν το 1966 τους συγκαταλέγουν στην κατηγορία των γκρουπς που μας απασχολούν στο blog. Οι δυνατές κιθάρες συνοδευμένες από την κλασική hard rock φωνή δίνουν γενικά ένα ευχάριστο αποτέλεσμα. Καλύτερες και ίσως πιο ψυχεδελικές στιγμές του cd της Akarma, είναι τα What Of I και Sailing.

This elegant CD reissues the sole album by this obscure Connecticut group who recorded this one LP and a classic psychedelic garage punk single which appears on the Psychedelic Unknowns compilation. While the debut single was classic beat garage of the period 1966, by the 1969 album the group expanded into more hard rock and progressive styles -- and this album is drenched in the lead guitar blitz of Reggie Wright. The group was led by brothers Denis Croce on guitar and Richard Croce on vocals, and Chuck Maher and Ralph Muscatelli on bass and drums. The group is not to be confused with a Chicago-area group of the same name and era who appeared on the Pebbles box set. The reissue on Italian obscure specialist label Akarma is a stunning object to behold and an audiophile remaster of this underground classic. ~ Skip Jansen

Dennis Croce (Vocals),
Richard Croce (Guitar),
Kurt, Chuck Maher (Guitar (Bass),
Ralph Muscatelli (Drums),
Reggie Wright (Guitar),


1 Paranoia (4:34)
2 Sad Born Loser (4:22)
3 What of I (3:55)
4 She's Easy (6:36)
5 Sailing (4:03)
6 Providence Bummer (4:03)
7 Evil Woman (3:10)
8 Hunter's Moon (6:10)

No comments: